CA’s Henson named All-State

SM-Tn Sports

Columbia Academy junior Connor Henson was named this week to the Tennessee Sports Writers Association’s Division II-A all-state cross country team.

Henson won the DII-A state championship in November, running a 16-minute, 8.33-second time over the 5K course at Sanders Ferry Park in Hendersonville to finish nearly 40 seconds ahead of Harding Academy’s Andy Henton.

It marked Henson’s third top-10 finish at the state level, after placing 10th in the Division I Small Class meet as a freshman and sixth in DII-A in 2019.

Forrest sophomore Jaedyn Stalnecker was recognized as a member of the Girls Small Class all-state team after placing third at the state championships with a 20:22.07.

The boys and girls all-state cross country teams for Division I and Division II follow:

BOYS LARGE CLASS — Aiden Britt, Lebanon, Sr.; Kevin Vanderkolk, Brentwood, Sr.; Miles Ally, Martin Luther King, Sr.; Kaden Keller, Hardin Valley Acad., Jr.; Jackson Martin, Creek Wood, So.

BOYS SMALL CLASS — Will Douglas, Camden Central, So.; Grayson Kennedy, Sequatchie Co., Jr.; Joshua Pote, Signal Mountain, Fr.; Irving Medina, Chuckey-Doak, Sr.; Carter Bradford, Sequatchie Co., Jr.

BOYS DIVISION II-A — Connor Henson, Columbia Acad., Jr.; Andy Henton, Harding Acad., Sr.; Austin Rhea, Knoxville Webb, Sr.; Colten Lee, First Baptist Acad., Jr.; Kaden Narayani, Knoxville Webb, Jr.

BOYS DIVISION II-AA — Jack Cottrell, Chattanooga Chr., Sr.; Luke Thompson, Brentwood Acad., Fr.; Riley Smith, Knoxville Catholic, Sr.; Evan Simpson, McCallie, Fr.; William Holleman, Montgomery Bell Acad., Jr.

GIRLS LARGE CLASS — Jenna Hutchins, Science Hill, Jr.; Landri Wilcox, Cookeville, Sr.; Kaitlyn Vanderkolk, Brentwood, Sr.; Ann-Marie Braese, Arlington, Jr.; Olivia Barnes, Arlington, Sr.

GIRLS SMALL CLASS — Alyssa Andrea, Fairview, So.; Kelsey Thompson, Signal Mountain, So.; Jaedyn Stalnecker, Forrest, So.; Lily Stinnett, Gatlinburg-Pittman, Jr.; Sophia Gibby, Signal Mountain, Sr.

GIRLS DIVISION II-A — Abby Cheeseman, Webb-Bell Buckle, 8th; Abbie Baker, First Assembly Chr., Sr.; Anna Graves, Knoxville Webb, Fr.; Hope Ilias, Friendship Chr., Jr.; Alli Hylkema, Jackson Chr., Jr.

GIRLS DIVISION II-AA –– Mae Mae Powell, Baylor, Fr.; Jessica Joshi, St. Mary’s, Sr.; Annamar Bacchetta, Harpeth Hall, 8th; Jane Eiselstein, Girls Prep, Sr.; Elizabeth Moody, St. Mary’s, Sr.

Leave a Reply