Summertown, Loretto each place three on all-state team; Summit’s Cherry also named

SM-Tn Sports

A trio of standouts from Summertown’s second consecutive state championship volleyball team was recognized this week as the Tennessee Sports Writers Association named its all-state performers.

Senior outside hitter Miya Cole Brown – the Most Valuable Player in this year’s Class A state tournament – was honored as a member of the Class A team along with junior middle hitter Katie Burdette (last year’s state tourney MVP) and junior setter Caiti Beth Gallagher.

Joining them are three members of the Class A state runner-up squad Loretto – junior middle hitter Karly Weathers, sophomore outside hitter Laney Weathers and sophomore setter Allie Morgan.

Summit senior outside hitter, Destiny Cherry, a Butler University signee, was a Class AAA all-state selection.

The teams for Class AAA, Class AA, Class A and Division II are listed below.

Class AAA

OH — Mattie Arnett, Cookeville, Sr.; Destiny Cherry, Summit, Sr.; Joy Douglass, Cleveland, Sr.; Shaye Eggleston, Brentwood, Sr.; Ashllyn King, Blackman, Sr.; Ainsley Patrick, Oak Ridge, Sr.; Lexi Pendleton, Germantown Houston, So.; MH — Jaida Clark, Siegel, Sr.; Loren Grindstaff, Science Hill, Sr.; Mary Oldham, Brentwood, Sr.; Emma Titus, Station Camp, Sr.; S — Liv Gravatt, Maryville, So.; Rachel McCollum, Collierville, Sr.; LIB — June Padilla, Siegel, Sr.; Haley Sanders, Brentwood, Sr.

Class AA

OH — Hallie Dickens, Macon Co., Sr.; Charley Fulton, Nolensville, Sr.; Morgan McMurray, Anderson Co., Sr.; Meredith Page, Murfreesboro Central, Sr.; Brooke Spurgeon, Murfreesboro Central, Fr.; Nikkayla Stewart, Greeneville, Sr.; MH — Jazmyn Jenkins, Nolensville, Sr.; Matti Rowland, Anderson Co., Sr.; Savanah Pippen, Portland, Sr.; Elaina Vaughan, Sullivan Central, Sr.; S — Jules Aiken, Greeneville, Sr.; Kylie Atchison, Lexington, So.; LIB — Bella Archie, Crockett Co., Jr.; Leah Freeman, Anderson Co., Jr.; Lauren Starcke, Nolensville, Sr.

Class A

OH — Miya Cole Brown, Summertown, Sr.; Morgan Brown, Watertown, Jr.; Hannah Haislip, Halls, Sr.; Ava Higgins, Sale Creek, Fr.; Lillie Morgan, Sale Creek, Sr.; Laney Weathers, Loretto, So.; Addison Williams, South Greene, Jr.; MH — Katie Burdette, Summertown, Jr.; Karly Weathers, Loretto, Jr.; Brookelyn Davis, Watertown, Sr.; S — Caiti Beth Gallaher, Summertown, Jr.; Sydney Gentry, South Greene, Jr.; Allie Morgan, Loretto, So.; LIB — Allison Smith, Sale Creek, Sr.; Alie Tunks, Watertown, Jr.

Division II

OH — McKenna Brown, Notre Dame, Sr.; Lucy Green, Father Ryan, Sr.; Zykia Jones, Briarcrest Chr., Sr.; Elaine Redman, Baylor, Sr.; Annabelle Sulish, Concord Chr., Jr.; Celia Watson, St. Agnes, Sr.; MH — Alexa Austin, The King’s Acad., Sr.; Reagan Carney, Univ. School of Jackson, Sr.; Oliva Jones, Goodpasture, Jr.; Tess Margio, Baylor, Sr.; Grainne McGrath, Knoxville Catholic, Sr.; S — Chloe Bryan, Briarcrest Chr., Sr.; Claire Wilson, Harpeth Hall, Sr.; Kolbie Greene, The King’s Acad., Sr.; LIB — Cassie Kuerschen, Knoxville Catholic, Sr.

Leave a Reply