Tag Archives: high school wrestling

Summit slips to No. 10 in weekly wrestling coaches rankings

SM-Tn Sports

After debuting at No. 9 in the Tennessee Wrestling Coaches Poll and moving up a spot last week, Summit slipped to 10th in this week’s 12-team listing.

The Spartans, one of five Midstate teams ranked, improved on a third-place finish at the inaugural Yellow Jacket Invitational at Fairview with a runner-up showing at the second Franklin Invitational tourney this past weekend. Summit advanced five wrestlers to the finals, with Luke Justice and Ryan Smith winning titles at 170 and 285 pounds, respectively.

Baylor continues in the top spot, with Cleveland, Wilson Central, Christian Brothers and Bradley Central rounding out the top five as they did in each of the previous polls.

Also ranked are Father Ryan, Blackman and Oakland, with Beech, Centennial, Clarksville and Montgomery Bell Academy also receiving votes.

Now in its 29th year, the poll is primarily a measure of dual-meet strength with some consideration given to individual tournament strength. Votes are cast by a statewide panel of high school coaches and are based on a maximum power ranking of 144.

This week’s poll, with power ranking points and previous ranking, follows:

1 Baylor 141 1

2 Cleveland 133 2

3 Wilson Central 117 3

4 Christian Brothers 112 4

5 Bradley Central 96 5

6 Father Ryan 61 12

7 Blackman 59 6

8 McCallie 50 7

9 Pigeon Forge 46 10

10 Summit 42 8

11 Kingsport Dobyns-Bennett 38 9

12 Oakland 13 NR

Also receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Beech, Centennial, Clarksville, Heritage, Montgomery Bell Acad.

2021 state wrestling sites set: Next month’s state dual and individual wrestling championship venues were recently announced by the TSSAA.

With the Williamson County Ag Expo being utilized for COVID-19 testing, the Franklin facility is unavailable for the tournaments, which have been held there since 2010.

Instead, state duals will be held at four other sites in Williamson County – Centennial, Independence and Nolensville high schools and Mill Creek Middle School. The Class AAA duals tourney will feature eight teams (rather than 16), with four teams advancing to the Class A/AA, Division II and Girls events.

All four tournaments will be held on Saturday, Feb. 6, with the state individual tourneys to take place roughly two weeks later, on Feb. 18-20. Those will be held at the Chattanooga Convention Center, with the Class A/AA event scheduled for Thursday, Girls and DII on Friday and Class AAA on Saturday.

More information will be available on TSSAAsports.com as the details are finalized.

Winter sports upcoming


Lincoln Co. girls at Columbia Central*, 5 p.m.
Columbia Acad. boys at Providence Chr.*


Columbia Acad. at Christ Presbyterian Acad.*
Columbia Central at Shelbyville*
Grace Chr. boys at Zion Chr.*
Independence at Ravenwood*
Loretto at Summertown*
Richland at Mt. Pleasant*
Santa Fe girls at Culleoka*
Spring Hill at Dickson Co.*


Columbia Central, Tullahoma at Coffee Co.
Marshall Co., Nolensville, Summit at Spring Hill


Summit at Spring Hill*


Cornersville at Richland
Summit at Page*


Independence at Spring Hill


Columbia Central at Coffee Co.*
Hampshire at Culleoka*
Independence at Page*
Mt. Pleasant girls at Santa Fe*
Providence Chr. boys at Zion Chr.*
Spring Hill at Summit*
Summertown at Collinwood*
Webb-Bell Buckle at Columbia Acad.*


Columbia Acad. at Webb-Bell Buckle*

*district game
basketball games 6 p.m. start unless otherwise noted
schedule subject to change without prior notice

Senior Night Slam: 7 Summit pins in dominant Indy win

By Maurice Patton

SPRING HILL – Senior Night couldn’t have gone much better for Summit.

The Spartans won six straight individual matches to open Thursday’s Border Battle wrestling clash with visiting Independence, taking advantage of an additional two forfeits for 44 unanswered points, and posted a 65-7 victory.

“Everything went perfect for us,” Summit coach Pete Miller said following his team’s second duals win of the week. “Our guys were ready. We told them this was going to be a battle.

“I’ve been waiting for this. This is the team I’ve been waiting for. I think they can step up to the challenge.”

With the match starting at the 220-pound weight class, Independence had no wrestler either there or at 106, and Spartan junior 285-pounder Ryan Smith turned in a second-period pin of Bradley Vaughn. Summit followed with pins at 113 (Jarvis Little), 120 (Jackson Masters) and 126 (Justin Noll) to break the match open early.

“Pins can be contagious,” Miller said, after his team recorded seven. “It showed tonight.

“There’s a lot of parts to it – where you start, how you line up, the coin flip. Everybody had a part to play, even the ones that didn’t wrestle.”

By the time Independence earned a decision, with Chris Witt edging Austin Grooters 9-5 at 145, the match was well in hand for the hosts. The Eagles’ only other win came at 170, where Tanner Willett downed Luke Justice by major decision, 16-8.

“All the matches we thought could go either way, they won,” Indy coach Bryan Youngsma said. “They wrestled tough. We’ll learn from it and move on. We didn’t get it done … As long as we can learn from it, we can get ready for the next one.”

The visitors, impacted to a degree by the pandemic, continue to have an unsettled lineup.

“There’s a lot of folks we didn’t have,” Youngsma said. “We have yet to put out our full lineup, and even the ones we did have in, some hadn’t wrestled in two weeks. That’s something everybody’s dealing with.

“I don’t think we wrestled badly. They were just ready for it. We’ll focus on the positive. There was a lot of positive. We’ll build on that.”

Though the score didn’t show it, Miller was pleased with the state of the Border Battle rivalry.

“I know it’s not Bradley Central/Cleveland or McCallie/Baylor, but I think the rivalry we’ve created here is special, and that takes two great teams,” he said. “We’re trying to make it an event, create an atmosphere. This atmosphere is special.”

Both teams will be in action Saturday at the Franklin Invitational, then resume duals competition Tuesday as Summit visits Spring Hill and Independence hosts Page.

Summit 65, Independence 7: 220 – Ty Garber (S) by forfeit; 285 – Ryan Smith (S) p. Bradley Vaughn, 2:54; 106 – Grayson Miller (S) by forfeit; 113 – Jarvis Little (S) p. Nicholas Sebastian, 0:42; 120 – Jackson Masters (S) p. Philip Shand, 3:48; 126 – Justin Noll (S) p. Brandon Lee, 1:44; 132 – Landon Desselle (S) tf. Timothy Ford 19-2; 138 – Austin Noll (S) d. Spencer Kon 7-6; 145 – Chris Witt (I) d. Austin Grooters 9-5; 152 – Finley Jameson (S) p. Grant Campanali, 3:39; 160 – Graham Harvey (S) p. Isaac Dotson, 3:22; 170 – Tanner Willett (I) md. Luke Justice 16-8; 182 – Jensen Schreiber (S) d. Cannon Roberts 7-3; 195 – Maddox Reed (S) p. Gabriel Hall, 3:25

Photos by Vanessa Beach / SM-Tn Sports