Tag Archives: Moore County

Pair of Tigers earn all-state gridiron recognition in 1A

SM-Tn Sports

Ethan Beasley completes his Mt. Pleasant football career with a third Tennessee Sports Writers Association all-state honor, as the senior defensive lineman was named to the organization’s Class 1A team this week.

Beasley, along with Tigers sophomore punter Jackson Collier, is among eight Region 5-1A performers listed on the all-state squad. Joining them are Huntland’s Kolbi Stewart, Moore County’s Kyler Parker and Kaden White, and Gus Hill, Zayshon Pullen and K.J. Jackson from the state champion Fayetteville Tigers.

In Class 2A, Eagleville receiver Kaden Snitzer and defensive back Marcus Collins from Region 5-2A were honored.

An all-state selection as a freshman in 2017 and again last year, Beasley finished with 71 total tackles (12 for loss), two sacks, three forced fumbles and a fumble recovery in 6½ games because of injuries and pandemic-related schedule limitations – providing a bright spot in Mt. Pleasant’s 1-8 campaign.

Collier averaged 35 yards per punt this fall while handling all the Tigers’ kicking chores – achieving touchbacks on 85 percent of his kickoffs and converting 90 percent of his extra-point attempts, along with his lone field goal try.

TSWA all-state teams for Class 3A and Class 4A were announced Tuesday, with Class 5A and Class 6A announced on Monday. Division II-A, DII-AA and DII-AAA teams will be available on Thursday.

The Class 2A and Class 1A teams are listed below.


QB – Jacob Dooley, Waverly, Jr.; Luke Myers, South Greene, Jr.*; RB – Jordan Cason, Watertown, Sr.; Khalik Ganaway, Peabody, Jr.*; Dylan Roebeck, Bledsoe Co., Sr.; WR – Quanterrius Hughes-Malone, Watertown, Sr.; Kaden Snitzer, Eagleville, So.; Brady Stanfield, Waverly, Sr.; OL – Neil Brown, Union City, Sr.; Malachi Hayden, Meigs Co., Sr.; Shelton Hopkins, Peabody, Sr.; Jackson Kelley, Rockwood, Sr.; Blake Minnis, Peabody, Sr.; ATH – Will Meadows, Meigs Co., Sr.*; K — Jay Higgins, South Greene, Jr.


DL – Jason Baskerville, Peabody, Jr.; C.J. King, Oneida, Jr.; Luke Lewis, Riverside, Sr.; Kaigan Thomas, Bledsoe Co., Jr.; LB – London Burkett, Peabody, So.; Tucker Johnson, Adamsville, Sr.; Hagan Lowe, Meigs Co., Sr.; Cameron Rankins, Trousdale Co., Sr.; DB – Marcus Collins, Eagleville, Jr.; Xadrian Fickey, Rockwood, Jr.; Taye Hutchins, Marion Co., Sr.; Carson Vandiver, Peabody, Sr.; ATH – Jordan Carter, Watertown, Sr.; P – Kolby Morgan, Oneida, Sr.


QB – Emmett Hegland, Midway, Jr.; Kyler Parker, Moore Co., Sr.*; RB – Hunter Frame, South Pittsburg, Sr.*; K.J. Jackson, Fayetteville, Fr.; Kolbi Stewart, Huntland, Sr.; WR – Caleb Goodman, Midway, Jr.; Jordan King, Jellico, Sr.; Devin Ramsey, Unaka, Jr.; OL – Colton Alexander, Greenback, Sr.; Gus Hill, Fayetteville, Jr.; Jesse Mounts, West Carroll, Sr.; Bryson Ridge, Coalfield, Jr.; Jared Stone, South Pittsburg, Sr.*; ATH – Seth Lowe, Coalfield, Sr.; K – Cooper Keown, South Pittsburg, Fr.


DL – Ethan Beasley, Mt. Pleasant, Sr.; Radshun Cheirs, Lake Co., Sr.; Gio Davis, South Pittsburg, Jr.; Isaac McKinney, Coalfield, Sr.; LB – J.J. Beene, South Pittsburg, Sr.; Braden Matoy, Greenback, Jr.; Brandon Nation, Oliver Springs, Sr.; Kade Wood, Huntingdon, So.; DB – Gavin Hill, Oliver Springs, Sr.; J.T. Morgan, Lake Co., Sr.; Zayshon Pullen, Fayetteville, Sr.; Kaden White, Moore Co., Sr.; ATH – Cody Wildridge, West Carroll, Sr.; P – Jackson Collier, Mt. Pleasant, So.

*Mr. Football finalist; automatic all-state selection

All-region picks named for 5-1A

Coaches from Region 5-1A have announced their postseason all-region team and superlative awards.

Player of the Year – Kolbi Stewart, Huntland

Offensive Player of the Year – Kyler Parker, Moore Co.

Defensive Player of the Year – Kaden White, Moore Co.

Back of the Year – K.J. Johnson, Fayetteville; Austin Seals, Richland

Lineman of the Year – Gus Hill, Fayetteville

Special Teams Player of the Year – Dawson White, Moore Co.

Kicker of the Year – Jackson Collier, Mt. Pleasant

Coach of the Year – Kenny Morson, Fayetteville; Kris White, Moore Co.

Staff of the Year – Fayetteville

All-Region – Brady Calahan, Riley Qualls, Carson Warner, Eli Welch, Rhett Woodard (Cornersville); Antonio Ibarra, Graham Pace, Zayshon Pullen, Cam Sheridan, Andre Thomison, Jaylen Williams, Braxton Wilson (Fayetteville); Andrew Bradner, Bryson Johnson, Micah Millraney, Payton Reed, Kobe Stovall, Troy Tate (Huntland); Ethan Beasley, Zavier Davidson, Jerimiah Dobbins, Ryan Gray (Mt. Pleasant); Zac Carawan, Brayden Cashion, Donnie Pearson, Dylan Scruggs, Tyler Smith, Joseph Trice (Moore Co.); Gavin Boggs, Sam Edwards, Landon Griggs, C.J. James, Mason Lawing (Richland)

Honorable Mention – Alex Hillard, Blake Jones, Trenton Posey, Barrett Powers (Cornersville); Aubre Brown, Jay Buchanan, Aljarea Johnson, Isaiah Thomison (Fayetteville); Avery Bradley, Evan Damron, T.J. Magovirk, Jayden Norwood (Huntland); Demarkus Brown, Dontavious Ellison, Jacob Randolph, Jeffrey Williamson (Mt. Pleasant); Chase Bradford, Hayden Carter, Ryder Morey, Josh Parks (Moore Co.); Andrew McCormack, Chandler Thomason, Ethan Workman, John Young (Richland)