Woods earns Miss Softball kudos as all-star, all-state teams named

SM-Tn Sports

Summertown’s Claire Woods has been named Middle Tennessee Class A Miss Softball by the Tennessee Softballl Coaches Association, and she and teammate Hailey Jones will represent the Lady Eagles in the TSCA All-Star Game scheduled for June 17 at Riverdale High School in Murfreesboro.

The duo led Summertown to a 3-0 victory over Eagleville in the state tournament finals on May 28, marking the program’s second Class A championship in four years along with a runner-up finish.

Woods, a Middle Tennessee State signee, went 21-1 with 16 shutouts, striking out 197 in 126 innings and compiling an earned run average of 0.67 in the circle. She also batted .410 with seven home runs and 32 RBIs.

Jones, who has signed with North Alabama, hit .402 with 12 homers and 39 RBIs.

Joining them on the Midstate all-star squad are Jenna Blanton and Ashley Milligan from the Class AA state titlist Forrest Lady Rockets, and Keri Munn and Justus Turner from the Class AAA runner-up Coffee County Lady Raiders.

Munn was named Class AAA Miss Softball for Middle Tennessee by the coaches association.

Columbia Academy juniors Myleah Hardy and Averi Slaughter each received all-state accolades from the association, as did Blanton, Milligan and Laura Mealer from Forrest

The June 17 festivities will begin at 10 a.m. with a contest between the East and Middle stars, followed by a 12 noon home run derby. At 12:30 p.m., the East and West stars will face off, with all-state selections and Miss Softball honorees to be presented at 2:30 p.m. The Middle and West stars will play at 3 p.m. Following the final game, the Tennessee roster for the June 30 Tennessee/Kentucky All-Star Game in Bowling Green will be announced.

All-star, Miss Softball and all-state selections are:

East All-Stars: Shelby Blake, Gibbs; Delayna Bryant, Powell; Hannah Cooper, Grace Chr.-Knoxville; Ella Edgmon, Sequatchie Co.; Eden Frazier, Heritage; Ellie Hickman, Rhea Co.; Kendal Pitts, Maryville; Catelyn Riley, Jefferson Co.; Mari Robbins, Sweetwater; Syerra Rogers, East Hamilton; Courtney Sneed, Soddy Daisy; Brecca Williams, Heritage; Cameron Young, Farragut. Coaches — Jeff Sherman, Heritage; McKenzie Sherman, Heritage; Ashley Day, Heritage; Hillary Love, Jefferson Co.

East Miss Softball: Class A – Kara VonAchen, Coalfield; Class AA – Ella Edgmon, Sequatchie Co.; Class AAA – Avery Flatford, Farragut.

East all-state: Shelby Blake, Gibbs; Sierra Brown, Walker Valley; Breanna Bumgardner, Gibbs; Hannah Cooper, Grace Chr.-Knoxville; Makayla Cooper, Union Co.; Brooklyn Copley, Grainger; Caitlin Dixon, Grace Chr.-Knoxville; Hayden Dye, Powell; Addy Edgmon, Sequatchie Co.; Lainey Fitzgerald, Meigs Co.; Eden Frazier, Heritage; Katie Fultz, Coalfield; Gracie Gray, Hardin Valley; Ellie Hickman, Rhea Co.; Reese Knox, East Hamilton; Hailey Leslie, Walker Valley; Taylor Lloyd, Soddy Daisy; Kennedy Majors, Meigs Co; Kendal Pitts, Maryville; Catelyn Riley, Jefferson Co.; Mari Robbins, Sweetwater; Syerra Rogers, East Hamilton; Hannah Skiles, Sale Creek; Olivia Smith, Heritage; Courtney Sneed, Soddy Daisy; Ally Starnes, Sweetwater; Shelby Sullivan, Sale Creek; Lexie Sykes, Grainger; Allyssa Williams, Lakeway Chr.; Cameron Young, Farragut.

Middle All-Stars: Jenna Blanton, Forrest; Krychet Grigsby, Station Camp; Lauren Hosford, Riverdale; Hailey Jones, Summertown; Jordan Key, Livingston Acad.; Ashley Milligan, Forrest; Keri Munn, Coffee Co.; Killian Roberts, Blackman; Abby Shoulders, Macon Co.; Justus Turner, Coffee Co.; Sydney Weatherford, Clarksville; Ashton Wheeler, Riverdale; Claire Woods, Summertown; Gracelyn Woollen, Clarksville. Coaches — John Conditt, Macon Co.; John Bush, Gordonsville; Christi Bingham, Riverdale.

Middle Miss Softball: Class A – Claire Woods, Summertown; Class AA – Abby Shoulders, Macon Co.; Class AAA – Keri Munn, Coffee Co.; Division II – Aubrey Barnhart, Goodpasture.

Middle all-state: Brianna Asmondy, Springfield; Macauley Bailey, Station Camp; Paige Bagwell, Clarksville Chr.; Shelby Baker, Waverly; Kailey Binkley, Goodpasture; Jenna Blanton, Forrest; Faith Brown, Goodpasture; Cadence Carter, Macon Co.; Macey Ciramella, Middle Tennessee Chr.; Madison Croxford, Station Camp; Kaitlyn Davis, Coffee Co.; Kristen Eversole, Trousdale Co.; Kiya Ferrell, Coffee Co.; Myleah Hardy, Columbia Acad.; Jacey Hatfield, DeKalb Co.; Reagan Hurst, Upperman; Hailey Jones, Summertown; Jordan Key, Livingston Acad.; Sarah Kinderdine, Blackman;  Aliyah Kingery, Clay Co.; Maddie Lee, Trousdale Co.; Esther McFarlin, Riverdale; Macy Meador, Macon Co.; Laura Mealer, Forrest; Elizabeth Miller, Friendship Chr.; Ashley Milligan, Forrest; Sarah Nicholson, Springfield; Kyleigh Pitzer, Wilson Central; Kailey Plumlee, Gordonsville; Mel Pride, Upperman; Killian Roberts, Blackman; Averi Slaughter, Columbia Acad.; Alaina Smith, Lebanon; Breanna Snyder, Northwest; Morgan Walker, DeKalb Co.; Ester White, Waverly; Ester White, Waverly; Avery Woodard, Smith Co.; Gracelyn Woollen, Clarksville.

West All-Stars: Abby Berry, Camden; Nevaeh Davis, Bruceton; Reagan Hamm, Dyersburg; Alix Hampton, Camden; Jade Howard, Brighton; Kalynn Howard, Covington; Ashlyn Gray, Ripley; Laura Kirkpatrick, Trinity Chr.; Lilly Kramer, Trinity Chr.; Ali Naumann, Tipton-Rosemark; Zoey Neal, Gibson Co.; Halle Grace Patton, Hardin Co.; Charli Rice, Tipton-Rosemark; Lauren Vickery, Covington. Coaches — Adam Blackburn, Camden; Chris Peebles, Camden; Justus Cousar, Covington.

West Miss Softball: Class A – Zoey Neal, Gibson Co.; Class AA – Kalynn Howard, Covington; Class AAA – Halle Grace Patton, Hardin Co.; Division II – Charli Rice, Tipton-Rosemark.

West all-state: Abby Berry, Camden; Timily David, Brighton; Nevaeh Davis, Bruceton; Molli Deere, Riverside; Kennadie Gibson, Huntingdon; Anna Gover, Covington; Ashley Gray, Ripley; Raegan Hamm, Dyersburg; Alix Hampton, Camden; Brooke Harrison, Trinity Chr.; Brie Howard, Brighton; Laura Kirkpatrick, Trinity Chr.; Maria Murdaugh, Trinity Chr.; Ava Ozment, Dyer Co.; Josie Sanders, Huntingdon; Chloe Shelton, McNairy Central; Reagon Thompson, Dyer Co.; Pearson Vaugh, Ripley; Lauren Vickery, Covington.

Leave a Reply